Physical fitness

A forum for LEOs, firefighters, EMT and other first responders to discuss issues pertaining to their fields.
Deputydave

Physical fitness

Post by Deputydave » Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:47 pm

I'd like to touch on physical fitness for first responders. When I first started my career we were required to be able to do a minimum number of push up, sit ups, bench press, mile and a half run etc. That was just to be able to apply for the job. The academy contained an excellent amount of physical conditioning as well. The problem is people keeping it up after the academy was over.

Now here is my take; I'm coming up on my 21st year of duty. In that time I taught firearms, defensive tactics, physical conditioning and operations in the academy for law enforcement, corrections and E.O.T. for 9 years. As mentioned, the physical conditioning portion was excellent. I am a natural body builder/power lifter. I am also a martial arts instructor. I would take that experience and pour it into my recruits. I taught them how to do hand-stand push ups, dive-bomber push ups, hindu squats, power pyramids etc. I would also teach them sound weight lifting exercises like squats, pressing, dead lifting i.e. solid compound movements to increase muscle mass, decrease body fat and increase strength. By the time they graduated the academy they were people in excellent shape.

But as they say, you can lead an elephant to water but you can't push one in.

A lot of them stuck with some type of personal training program. Many unfortunately did not and let themselves go. People are people and some don't make the wisest of choices.