how do I buy a used gun from private owner?

A forum for LEOs, firefighters, EMT and other first responders to discuss issues pertaining to their fields.
Tact.Medic

how do I buy a used gun from private owner?

Post by Tact.Medic » Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:38 am

Is there any special paper work needed to keep it legal? Should this be registered with the state? Sorry for the noob question but I'm a noob #-o

Mr. Smith
Life Member
Life Member

Post by Mr. Smith » Tue Oct 10, 2006 10:08 am

Okay, as far as I know, if you’re not a FFL holder, the only thing you’re required to do is make sure that you don’t knowingly sell your firearm to a felon.

How would you know or find out if a person is a felon? Well, there’s where it get’s a bit sticky. If it were me I’d be sure to ask him or her. If they said yes it is illegal to sell them the firearm. But if they said they were not a felon, and you had no other evidence to the contrary, you're allowed to sell them your firearm, if they were over 18 of course.

If you wanted to be real sure your name didn’t end up in some lawsuit, you could get a copy of their driver’s license, or require a CWL, but as far as I know it’s not required by law.

You’ve got guts, right? Use them. If you get a gut feeling that this person should NOT have a firearm, don’t sell it to them! You’re not required to sell them your gun, you’re not even required to give them a reason.

Our firearm rights are diminished every time somebody allows their firearms fall into the hands of someone that shouldn't have them.

What was the phrase Nancy Regan made famous? Just say NO!

Just to be sure you might wait and see how other people respond to your question.

Smith
"Among the many misdeeds of the British rule in India, history will look upon depriving a whole nation of its arms as the blackest."
- Mohandas Gandhi

"If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
- Dalai Lama (Seattle Times, 05-15-2001).

Dave P