Fishing Carry.

State and national practical & political discussions on legal open, concealed and vehicle carry.
NorincoKid

Fishing Carry.

Post by NorincoKid »

So I'm still somewhat new to some of the laws in Florida.

I've read you can open carry while fishing. I'm not too crazy about that, for a few reasons but understand why one would do it. I think I've read of people being.....pestered.....by people who don't know that acceptable to do.

So, my question would be... is concealed carry.....without a permit acceptable/legal while fishing?

I've been thinking about finding a smaller handgun to keep in my tackle box (or on/with me) while out fishing but just wanted to be clear on what can and cannot be done. I had my permit in NY years back, but haven't gotten around to applying for one down here yet.

Would a Cobray 410/45 derringer, or even a 9mm/38 derringer with those "shotshells" even be effective for a fishing pest control device? Just trying to think of something that could be kept in a tackle box (and/or my camper when I find one) that would be inexpensive, and not missed dearly if lost or stolen.
flcracker

Post by flcracker »

No. Concealed carry is never permitted without a valid CWP.
....and some rin up hill and down dale, knapping the chucky stanes to pieces wi' hammers, like sae mony road-makers run daft - they say it is to see how the warld was made!
Saint Ronan's Well - Sir Walter Scott, Bart. (1824)
Dave P

Post by Dave P »

Open carry is permitted while going to-from fishing.

FL Statute 790.25.3 is clear to me: " it is lawful for the following persons to own, possess, and lawfully use firearms and other weapons, ammunition, and supplies for lawful purposes: (h) A person engaged in fishing, camping, or lawful hunting or going to or returning from a fishing, camping, or lawful hunting expedition;

Are you a vagrant? Different rules apply. :lol:
dammitgriff

Post by dammitgriff »