Build a Range on your property?

SFSGM

Build a Range on your property?

Post by SFSGM » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:58 am

I'm a mechanical engineer and career military guy. Looking to pair up with a land owner (or hunting lease) to build a range for long range shooting & practice in NE Florida / SE Georgia area. I can show you how to shoot with berms for the firing lines and shoot over crops and cattle, etc. it will not take up much space. I have plans drawn for target frames, ranges, etc and can make them fit on your surveyed land. We have a large group of NRA conventional highpower competitors here and they shoot 200,300,600 yards and 1,000 yards regularly. I am thinking to install 4 cantilever frames behind a concrete wall and berm. This would serve as many as 16 shooters in 4 relays. (1 relay shoots, one scores and Preps, 2 relays pull targets - then swap around) this is not new technology or a new idea. We've been traveling to the National Matches as a sport since 1907. There are ranges like this all over the US. Just not one close to Jacksonville or SE Georgia. We have Port Malabar (185 miles) (Cool Acres- 170 miles) Ft Gordon (180 miles) Ft benning ( 180 miles) and Bradford Farms ( 60 miles). Bradford is only open Wed, Sat & Sun and is busy with matches and lots of Sporting Clays. Bradford also has no targets like this. they bring something from home, steel ,etc. no precision targets and pullers for immediate feedback.

I am willing to build (and will retain ownership in case you don't like it later) the target frames if you are willing to move dirt to build berms, etc.
SF-SGM
Retired 18Z 5TW9
Jacksonville, FL &
Illocos, Philippines

Rentprop1
Life Member
Life Member

Re: Build a Range on your property?

Post by Rentprop1 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:48 pm