Suppressor info

Machine guns, SBRs, SBSs, suppressors, destructive devices, AOW (any other weapon)
flcracker
Life Member
Life Member

Suppressor info

Post by flcracker » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:50 am

I am no expert, but I'll toss this out there. Hopefully others will fill in the gaps in my knowledge.
dieselbeef wrote: maybe we should start another thread on suppressors. all yo guys got em so maybe someone could help me decide. can I get a one size fits all kinda unit?
Whatever caliber rifle suppressor you get, you can generally shoot all smaller calibers through it.

You'll need something larger in diameter than a .308 can to shoot your .357 rifle through. Most folks that want a "one size fits all" suppressor get a .308 can and shoot everything smaller than that through it. Be aware that if you get a pistol-rated suppressor (9mm, 45ACP, etc.) you may not be able to shoot rifle rounds through it. You'll need to ask the manufacturer for the specific rating.

It should go without saying, but any rifle you want to use your can on will need muzzle threads. I once listened to some a$$hole chewing out a gun shop owner for not making it clear to him before ordering/paying/waiting for his can that he would need his muzzle threaded. He seemed to think that the gun shop should thread his muzzle for free since they didn't inform him up front that it would be necessary. :ham'r

As far as mounting on various rifles, many brands of suppressors offer a muzzle device attachment piece that you can buy several of, install them on several rifles, then you can quick attach/detach onto each rifle in turn. A slower way is to just thread/unthread the mounting adapter each time. However, the threads are typically different on .22, 5.56, and .308.